facebook pixel
  • Deposit: $375
  • Minimum stay: 8 weeks
  • Meals: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
  • Internet: Yes
  • Smoking: No
  • Can pickup airport?: No
  • House has pets?: No
  • Available from: 28 Apr 2024
  • Available to: 20 Jul 2024
  • Guests: Students
We are a fun-loving and dynamic family of five, including Rebecca, an elementary school teacher, Jongsu, a secondary Physical Education teacher and our three children: Noah (born 2012), Olivia (2015) and Conan (2018). Our family lives in a 6-bedroom house in the beautiful Capitol Hill neighbourhood, which is very close to the Vancouver border and approximately 30 minutes by bus to downtown Vancouver.

We live a short walk away from many amenities including restaurants and coffee shops, fitness facilities, pharmacies, as well as Brentwood, a luxury shopping centre. We also have a wonderful community centre that is a short walk away and features an indoor swimming pool, library and gym, in a huge park that provides a track, tennis and basketball courts and many other activities.

As an international family, we enjoy traveling and learning about other countries and cultures. Jongsu is from South Korea and Rebecca is from Canada. She spent five years teaching, travelling and living in Asia before settling down in the Vancouver area.

We celebrate all typical Canadian celebrations, such as birthdays, Christmas, Easter, Thanksgiving and Halloween; we hope you will enjoy being a part of these celebrations. We like to eat a variety of foods and would prefer to host someone who is open-mind about food since we feel that eating different foods is part of the experience of visiting another country. For dinner we often eat Korean food, rice, pasta, barbeque, roasts, stews, and stir fries. For breakfast we eat cereal, toast, yogurt and oatmeal and sometimes pancakes or eggs and bacon on the weekends. For lunch we generally have leftovers from dinner the night before, sandwiches or salads. With your help, we plan to stock the cupboards and refrigerator every week with your favourite breakfast, lunch and snack items, so that you are able to make your own breakfast and pack your own lunches according to your preferences. We look forward to having you join us for family dinner time.

As a family with three young children, we hope to have students who enjoy spending time with kids and who are role models of an engaged, motivated and responsible mindset.

As teachers, Jongsu and Rebecca value learning, and hands on experiences, as well as clear and consistent communication. We hope to have a mutually enriching experience through this special opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you into our home and family!

Verification

  • Featured member since 23 Mar 2024
  • Phone verified

Contact

Places Nearby

  • Burnaby North Secondary School

    is 1 km away (15 mins by walking)
  • Burnaby Central Secondary School

    is 6 km away (25 mins by bus)
  • SFU

    is 5 km away (20 mins by bus)
  • BCIT

    is 4 km away (40 mins by bus)
  • Downtown Vancouver

    is 11 km away (20 mins by car)

Similar Hosts